menu Home

Conway, AR

June 6, 2022 — Arkansas Country Music Awards

Arkansas Country Music Awards [Reynolds Performance Hall, University of Central Arkansas]

Event Details

Date:June 6, 2022
Time:6:30 PM
Presented by:Arkansas Country Music Awards
Venue:Reynolds Performance Hall, University of Central Arkansas
Address:223 Beatrice Powell St Conway, AR

Jason Coleman performs at the Arkansas Country Music Awards to honor grandfather Floyd Cramer’s Lifetime Achievement Award

“Arkansas is truly where it all began for Floyd Cramer,” Coleman, said of his grandfather’s home state. “My grandmother Mary and all of the Cramer family are deeply honored by Grandad’s induction into the Arkansas Country Music Hall of Fame, and we’re thrilled to be on hand to take part in the celebration on June 6.”Few musicians have ever left the imprint on the industry as Cramer. He grew up in Huttig, and is known for his ‘slip-note’ piano style. Before moving to Nashville in 1955, Cramer was a cast member of the famed Louisiana Hayride. Once in Music City, he played on countless sessions. Cramer’s piano work can be heard on mega hits like “Heartbreak Hotel,” by Elvis Presley;” “Please Help Me I’m Falling,” by Hank Locklin; and “Crazy,” by Patsy Cline.

Additionally, he played on hits by such artists as Don Gibson, Eddy Arnold, Brenda Lee, the Browns, Jim Reeves, Ray Price, Roy Orbison, Connie Smith, Charley Pride, the Everly Brothers and many others. Between 1958 and 1962, Cramer charted 11 singles, which is an astonishing feat for an instrumentalist. The most notable being “Last Date.” Cramer died in 1997. He was posthumously inducted into both the Country Music Hall of Fame and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2003.

Joining Cramer as a Lifetime Achievement recipient this year are Lefty Frizzell, Mark Wright and Bob Robbins.

Coleman joins Lee Ann Womack, who was previously announced as a performer. More performers, presenters and special guests will be announced in the coming weeks for this fifth annual awards show.

The Arkansas Country Music Awards will be co-hosted by Charles Haymes and Ashton Gill. Get tickets at Arkansas Country Music Awards would like to thank Airways Freight Corp., Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas, Nabholtz Construction, Fairfield by Marriott in Conway, Yadaloo Music & Arts Festival, and DLA77 Photography.

play_arrow skip_previous skip_next volume_down